Skip to Main Content
NPC Libraries Banner
More Resources related to Theatre, Film and Television
-
alphaville
A peer-reviewed, open access journal in visual culture, motion pictures & film studies.
-
Camera Obsura
Since its inception, Camera Obscura has devoted itself to providing innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, and visual media. It consistently combines excellence in scholarship with imaginative presentation and a willingness to lead media studies in new directions. The journal has developed a reputation for introducing emerging writers to the field. Its debates, essays, interviews, and summary pieces encompass a spectrum of media practices, including avant-garde, alternative, fringe, international, and mainstre
-
Center for the Study of Women in Television & Film
When Dr. Lauzen began her research on women’s employment and representation in film and television over 20 years ago, the public dialogue on the issue was limited to just a few articles a year in popular media outlets and the trade press, often timed to coordinate with “women’s” events sponsored by industry organizations. Over time, that discussion gained momentum and to date, a wide variety of individuals and organizations – ranging from undergraduate and graduate students to the ACLU and California State Assembly – have used the Center’s findings to make the case for greater employment of women in film and television.
-
CINEJ Cinema Journal
CINEJ Cinema Journal is a peer-reviewed semiannual Open Access journal publishing fresh and original research in the fields of film and media studies.
-
Costumer's Manifesto
Costumers of the World, Unite!
-
Edinburgh University Press
Our ambition is to create a community of authors, editors, advisors and practitioners committed to publishing world-class academic research that amplifies the critical role of the humanities and social sciences in shaping the way we think about and tackle global and local issues. Sharing our University Press knowledge and expertise, we will nurture every project from idea to publication and beyond, to maximise its influence and impact. We will work with academics from across diverse backgrounds, and from early and mid-career researchers to professors, to give voice to a wide range of international perspectives. And we will build partnerships to create and deepen connections with our parent institution, the University of Edinburgh, and with wider civic society.
-
Film Comment
Founded in 1962, Film Comment magazine features reviews and analysis of mainstream, art-house, and avant-garde filmmaking from around the world.
-
Film Noir Foundation
The Film Noir Foundation is a non-profit public benefit corporation created as an educational resource regarding the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of film noir as an international cinematic movement. It is their mission to find and preserve films in danger of being lost or irreparably damaged to ensure that high quality prints of these classic films remain in circulation for theatrical exhibition to future generations.
-
Film Quarterly Journal
Film Quarterly, published by University of California Press, is a journal devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media. When FQ was launched in 1945, it was considered "the first serious film journal in the United States, with those most interested in the subject at the helm."
-
Films in Review
In the new incarnation of the FIR website, which you are reading now, we continue to feature long-lost articles from our vault including famous filmmakers such as Alfred Hitchcock, Walt Disney, Hurd Hatfield, Ida Lupino, Dimitri Tiomkin, Carl Dreyer,
Jean Renoir, King Vidor and a treasure trove more. These artists were eager to share their thoughts with FIR back in the day. Many budding artists who wrote for us are now considered masters of their fields. Stephen Sondheim, for example, graced our pages as a film reviewer long before he was a world-renowned composer. With Films in Review being the oldest and the only serious film magazine during its early decades of print publication, their insights and inspirations are still available and
viable today.
-
Filmsite.org
Filmsite.org is an award-winning website for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century. Detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference material are just some of the features available on the site. The site also contains film analysis, original content, information on the top films and most memorable movie scenes, "Best of..." articles, and the most popular film quotes in all genres of film.
-
-
-
GLAAD
Founded in 1985, GLAAD is a non-profit organization focused on LGBTQ advocacy and cultural change. GLAAD works to ensure fair, accurate, and inclusive representation and creates national and local programs that advance LGBTQ acceptance. Serving as a storyteller, media force, resource, and advocate, GLAAD tackles tough issues and provokes dialogue so that authentic LGBTQ stories are seen, heard, and actualized. GLAAD strives to protect all that has been accomplished and helps create a world where everyone can live the life they love.
-
Howlround Theatre Commons - Indigenous, First Nations, Native Theatre
In this section, content focuses on the work of Indigenous, First Nations, and Native theatremakers. Mary Kathryn Nagle’s series Native Voices is a great starting point, as are series specifically focusing on the performance practices of Kānaka Maoli, the Indigenous people of Hawai‘i, and on Alaska Native theatre.
-
IMDb
Launched online in 1990 and a subsidiary of Amazon.com since 1998, IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content, designed to help fans explore the world of movies and shows and decide what to watch.
Our searchable database includes millions of movies, TV and entertainment programs and cast and crew members.
-
International Association for Media & History
The International Association for Media and History is an organization of scholars, filmmakers, broadcasters and archivists dedicated to historical inquiry into film, radio, television, and other related media.
-
Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
-
Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
-
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
An online database of information related to films, television programs, home videos, video games, and streaming content online – including cast, production crew and personal biographies, plot summaries, trivia, ratings, and fan and critical reviews.
-
Library of Congress - Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Library of Congress Performing Arts Databases page contains database and catalog resources that are intended to help users with research in the performing arts areas.
-
Library of Congress - Recorded Sound Research Center
The Recorded Sound Research Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress. The Library's audio collections are now the largest in the United States and among the most comprehensive in the world. The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings.
-
-
Media History Project
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
-
New York Theater Guide
Guide to the best Broadway shows for kids in 2022. Read our expert guide to the best Broadway shows for families — including the top shows to see, what you should expect when you arrive, and more.
-
Nieman Reports
Founded in 1947, Nieman Reports is a website and quarterly print publication covering thought leadership in journalism. Its editorial mission mirrors that of the Foundation itself: “to promote and elevate the standards of journalism.”
-
Performing Arts at NYPL
The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, one of the Library’s renowned research libraries, houses one of the world's most extensive combinations of circulating, reference, and rare archival collections in its field.
-
Playbill
Playbill is an American monthly magazine for theatergoers. Although there is a subscription issue available for home delivery, most copies of Playbill are printed for particular productions and distributed at the door as the show's program.
-
Popular Culture at CulturalPolitics.net
The Popular Culture tab of CulturalPolitics.net provides resources for the critical analysis of popular culture in the US, including the impact of that culture beyond national borders. Resources include sites on various forms of popular culture, including music, film, television, advertising, sports, fashion, toys, magazines and comic books.
-
ScreenOnline
The definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history.
-
-
Victoria and Albert Museum - Theatre Collections
UK national collection of material about live performance in the UK since Shakespeare's day. Covers drama, dance, musical theatre, circus, music hall, rock and pop, and other forms of live entertainment.
-
World Radio History
This is a non-profit and non-commercial website created for educational and historical purposes. WRH archives a vast collection of free, digitized radio, broadcasting, and electronics publications. The website, founded by veteran broadcaster David Gleason, offers millions of pages from magazines and books, covering technical information, radio history, and programming, making it a valuable resource for historians, hobbyists, and the public.
NPC Libraries Banner
