LibGuides: Theatre, Film and Television: Journal Articles

Articles from Journals in Databases

What are Journal Articles?

Journal Articles are stored in Databases. Databases are like electronic filing cabinets.

Researchers write articles about their research and then publish them in Academic Journals. Then these Journals are available through Databases that the library purchases for your use.

Why use Databases? Why not just Google the information?

Anyone can publish on the internet. They may or may not know their topic. In order to publish in a Journal, you must be an expert and meet specific standards in your area of expertise.

This means that you can trust what you read in a Journal Article.

Best Bets: Databases to look for articles about Performing Arts

Academic Search Complete
EBSCO - Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

Other Databases to Search

EBSCO eBook Collection
Numerous eBooks covering various topics and subject matter. Each title is limited to one user at a time.
Boundless Audiobook Collection
EBSCO - Listen to eAudiobooks while you're on the go. Download titles to your Android or Apple device (free apps available from the App Store or Google Play)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
GALE - Has content covering today's hottest social issues. This database can help students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Salem Press eBooks

Performing Arts-related OER: Open Educational Resources (free resources)

Didaskalia
A peer-reviewed electronic journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman performance.
Skene - Journal of Theatre and Drama Studies
An open access journal on issues, questions and specifics of drama and theatre texts from antiquity to the present.
TheMA – Open Access Research Journal for Theatre, Music, Arts
A peer-reviewed open access research journal dedicated to the history of performing and visual arts.

Additional OER (free resources)

BASE
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
DPLA
The DPLA is a free digital resource that provides access to millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States in one single search.
Internet Archive
Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. We began in 1996 by archiving the Internet itself, a medium that was just beginning to grow in use. Like newspapers, the content published on the web was ephemeral - but unlike newspapers, no one was saving it. Today we have 20+ years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and we work with 450+ library and other partners through our Archive-It program to identify important web pages. As our web archive grew, so did our commitment to providing digital versions of other published works. Today our archive contains: 279 billion web pages, 11 million books and texts, 4 million audio recordings (including 160,000 live concerts), 3 million videos (including 1 million Television News programs), 1 million images, and 100,000 software programs.

Remote Access Passwords

Remote Access Passwords for Students are required for eBooks, eAudioBooks, and Databases.

Log in to MyNPC;

Click on the "My Courses" link
At the right side of the screen you will see a section called "Other Important Information."
Beneath that you will see "Library Information," and further down you must click on the link to the "Passwords for Access to the Library Databases"