LibGuides: Nursing and Medical Fields: Careers

NPC Career Services

NPC Career Services can help you determine career goals, learn how to write a winning résumé and develop confident interviewing skills. You'll find a wide-range of up-to-date resources and information on the best ways and places to search for good jobs.

Finding Your Career

Arizona Career Information Services
Provides occupational information, the related programs of study and training, and the schools that offer the training.
more...less...
Username: Northlandpc
Password: 4azcis02
College Central
Provides resources for job hunting, creating resumes, and interviewing for jobs.
more...less...
School Login Name: Northland Pioneer College

Create your own access ID and password

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Occupational Outlook Handbook
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections PSB Suite 2135 2 Massachusetts Avenue NE Washington, DC 20212-0001
Telephone: 1-202-691-5700
www.bls.gov/ooh

eBooks on Nursing Career

301 Careers in Nursing by Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Emerson E. Ea; Laura Stark Bai
ISBN: 9780826133069
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Written for nurses of all education and experience levels, 301 Careers in Nursing highlights the exceptional array of diverse opportunities available to those interested in a career in nursing. Each of the carefully selected and researched careers described in this book embraces the core dimensions of nursing: caring, competence, and commitment to excellence in caring for others at all stages of life. If you are considering a career in nursing, if you know someone who is considering a career in nursing, if you are a guidance counselor, or if you are already a nurse but considering a change, you will benefit from this resource to the most prominent careers in nursing today. This edition features 100 additional career options, with an emphasis on those available to the growing number of advanced practice nurses. Also new to this edition are 25 interviews from nurses practicing in a multitude of areas. These snapshots give you an inside look at opportunities in academia and practice settings that might be unfamiliar. Each career entry includes: Career descriptionEducational requirementsCore competencies and skillsRelated websites and professional organizations

Nursing and Related Fields

Find Nursing and related fields below.

The medical field is a robust and fast-moving field, with many options for you to investigate. You can begin in one level, and easily move into others with time, dedication, and a willingness to learn. Check out the variety of related fields to see the variation of salary, day-to-day expectations, and educational requirements.

Registered Nurse (RN)
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Registered Nurse with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Nurse Anesthetists, Nurse Midwives, and Nurse Practitioners
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Nurse Anesthetists, Nurse Midwives, and Nurse Practitioners with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Physician Assistants
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Physician Assistants with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
EMTs and Paramedics
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of EMTs and Paramedics with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Nurse Anesthetists, Nurse Midwives, and Nurse Practitioners
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Nurse Anesthetists, Nurse Midwives, and Nurse Practitioners with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Dental Hygienists
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Dental Hygienists with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Diagnostic Medical Sonographers and Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians, Including Vascular Technologists
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers and Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians, Including Vascular Technologists with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.
Respiratory Therapists
Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the career of Respiratory Therapists with information on salary, requirements, day-to-day work, career prospects, and related topics.