Students’ academic lives are filled with assignments, deadlines and the need for information. The purpose of the NPC Library is to assist you with your information needs and help you develop the knowledge, skills and abilities that will ensure your academic success.
Reference service means helping you learn how to find answers to your questions.
To text your question to Ask-a-Librarian, follow this link: https://www.npc.edu/ask-librarian.
Information Literacy is knowing the difference between credible sources and those that are biased, untrustworthy and lacking factual information. Being information literate includes the ability to distinguish fact from fiction—an essential skill given the proliferation of misinformation and disinformation. To be information literate, then, you will need skills not only in research but in critical thinking.
The Library Information Literacy Subject Guide (npc.libguides.com/information-literacy-guide) can provide you with an in-depth look.
To request an Information Literacy Session, please go to: www.npc.edu/form/library-information-literacy-ins.
Find the best databases for your research.
Why use Databases? Why not just Google the information?
Anyone can publish on the internet and they may or may not know their topic.In order to publish in a journal, you must be an expert and meet specific standards in your area of expertise.
This means that you can trust what you read in a Journal Article.
BEST DATABASE TO BEGIN A BASIC SEARCH
Search our library catalog for eBooks and eAudiobooks
INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICES
If we don't have the material you need, we can borrow it from another library.
You may request materials from an item found on the WorldCat database by following the instructions and guidelines listed below and completing an InterLibrary Loan Request Application. Please include your library card barcode number and location you wish to receive your material.
DO THIS FIRST:
Check the NPC library catalog to be sure we don't own the item.
Check all library databases (link below) to be sure we do not have access (each database will display the publications it contains).
Check your local public or school library as well.
If the item is still not found, go to the OCLC WorldCat (link below) database and find the title or ask a librarian to help.
Note the correct Title, Author, and ISBN of the edition you want.
Fill out an NPC Interlibrary Loan Materials Request Form, and be sure to include your library card barcode number.
