LibGuides: Geology: eBooks

Finding eBooks

How do I download an eBook?

eBooks are available through several sources. They are available for free and immediately.

If you want to download an e-book to a portable reader (instead of reading it online), the portable reader must be compatible with Adobe Digital Editions . Follow this link if you want to download an EBSCO eBook to a Kindle Fire.. EBSCO also provides How to Print, E-mail or Save EBSCO eBooks Pages as a PDF .

Remote Access Passwords

Remote Access Passwords for Students are required for eBooks, eAudioBooks, and Databases.

Log in to MyNPC;

Click on the "My Courses" link
At the right side of the screen you will see a section called "Other Important Information."
Beneath that you will see "Library Information," and further down you must click on the link to the "Passwords for Access to the Library Databases"

NPC Library Geology eBooks

Timefulness : How Thinking Like a Geologist Can Help Save the World [electronic resource] Why an awareness of Earth's temporal rhythms is critical to our planetary survivalFew of us have any conception of the enormous timescales in our planet's long history, and this narrow perspective underlies many of the environmental problems we are creating for ourselves. The passage of nine days, which is how long a drop of water typically stays in Earth's atmosphere, is something we can easily grasp. But spans of hundreds of years—the time a molecule of carbon dioxide resides in the atmosphere—approach the limits of our comprehension. Our everyday lives are shaped by processes that vastly predate us, and our habits will in turn have consequences that will outlast us by generations. Timefulness reveals how knowing the rhythms of Earth's deep past and conceiving of time as a geologist does can give us the perspective we need for a more sustainable future.Marcia Bjornerud shows how geologists chart the planet's past, explaining how we can determine the pace of solid Earth processes such as mountain building and erosion and comparing them with the more unstable rhythms of the oceans and atmosphere. These overlapping rates of change in the Earth system—some fast, some slow—demand a poly-temporal worldview, one that Bjornerud calls “timefulness.” She explains why timefulness is vital in the Anthropocene, this human epoch of accelerating planetary change, and proposes sensible solutions for building a more time-literate society.This compelling book presents a new way of thinking about our place in time, enabling us to make decisions on multigenerational timescales. The lifespan of Earth may seem unfathomable compared to the brevity of human existence, but this view of time denies our deep roots in Earth's history—and the magnitude of our effects on the planet.
Geographical Evolution Geographical Evolution An Introduction A Lecture delivered at the Evening Meeting of the Royal Geographical Society, 24th March, 1879. In the quaint preface to his Navigations and Voyages of the English Nation, Hakluyt calls geography and chronology "the sunne and moone, the right eye and the left of all history." The position thus claimed for geography three hundred years ago by the great English chronicler was not accorded by his successors, and has hardly been admitted even now. The functions of the geographer and the traveller, popularly assumed to be identical, have been supposed to consist in descriptions of foreign countries, their climate, productions, and inhabitants, bristling on the one hand with dry statistics, and relieved on the other by as copious an introduction as may be of stirring adventure and personal anecdote. There has indeed been much to justify this popular assumption. It was not until the key note of its future progress was struck by Karl Ritter, within the present century, that geography advanced beyond the domain of travellers' tales and desultory observation into that of orderly, methodical, scientific progress. This branch of inquiry, however, is now no longer the pursuit of mere numerical statistics, nor the chronicle of marvelous and often questionable adventures by flood and fell. It seeks to present a luminous picture of the earth's surface, its various forms of configuration, its continents, islands, and oceans, its mountains, valleys, and plains, its rivers and lakes, its climates, plants, and animals. It thus endeavours to produce a picture which shall not be one of mere topographical detail. It ever looks for a connection between scattered facts, tries to ascertain the relations which subsist between the different parts of the globe, their reactions on each other and the function of each in the general economy of the whole. Modern geography studies the distribution of vegetable and animal life over the earth's surface, with the action and reaction between it and the surrounding inorganic world. It traces how man, alike unconsciously and knowingly, has changed the face of nature, and how, on the other hand, the conditions of his geographical environment have moulded his own progress.

Database eBooks

Visually Observing Comets In these days of computers and CCD cameras, visual comet observers can still contribute scientifically useful data with the help of this handy reference for use in the field. Comets are one of the principal areas for productive pro-amateur collaboration in astronomy, but finding comets requires a different approach than the observing of more predictable targets. Principally directed toward amateur astronomers who prefer visual observing or who are interested in discovering a new comet or visually monitoring the behavior of known comets, it includes all the advice needed to thrive as a comet observer.After presenting a brief overview of the nature of comets and how we came to the modern understanding of comets, this book details the various types of observations that can usefully be carried out at the eyepiece of a telescope. Subjects range from how to search for new comets to visually estimating the brightness of comets and the length and orientation of tails, in addition to what to look for in comet heads and tails. Details are also given of 20 periodic comets, predicted to return between the years 2017 and 2027, that are expected to become suitable targets for visual observing, in addition to information on a famous comet potentially visible each year and subject to great outbursts of brightness.
The Grand Canyon: An Encyclopedia of Geography, History, and Culture This single-volume encyclopedia examines the Grand Canyon in depth, from the native peoples who have survived there for centuries to the explorers who charted its vast expanses and to the challenges that Grand Canyon National Park faces.The Grand Canyon is one of the most internationally recognized landscapes and symbols of nature in North America. In this one-volume encyclopedia, readers can dive into the many people, places, stories, and issues associated with the Grand Canyon as well as the scientific, religious, and social contexts of events that have made the Grand Canyon what it is. At the front of the encyclopedia are thematic essays that examine the Grand Canyon's history, geography, and culture. Essays cover topics including John Wesley Powell, to whom the Grand Canyon'belongs,'the Native Americans who live at the Grand Canyon, and the future of the Grand Canyon. Following the thematic essays are approximately 150 topical entries focusing on more specific aspects of the Grand Canyon, such as trails and camps, natural formations, and courageous heroes as well as shameless profiteers who have influenced the Grand Canyon's history. The encyclopedia is rounded out by a chronology of human history at the Grand Canyon, a Grand Canyon'at a glance'section, and multiple fact-based sidebars. Through the people, places, and stories explored in this work, readers will gain a better understanding of how the history of the Grand Canyon is relevant to the world today.Includes a chronology of important events in the history of the Grand Canyon, helping readers to hone in on key events that occurred during its history Offers a Grand Canyon'at a glance'section that allows readers key statistics about the parkProvides an appendix that gives readers the chance to explore'firsts'in the history of the Grand Canyon as well as to plot the GPS coordinates of major sites at the national parkFeatures photos from the authors'personal research travels that illuminate the text in such a style as to be different than tour books and trail guides
Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History This subset explores the land masses and seas of the world. It describes mountain ranges, the oceans, continental movement, and a wide variety of features that have influenced life on earth. Detailed explorations of the evolution of dinosaurs, fish, birds, plant life and humans, as they were influenced by the earth's surface, fill this set. Fantastic disruptions, from Mount St. helens to the ice ages are woven into the story of how the earth influences everything.