Welding: Articles, Films and Trade Journals

Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

The DPLA is a free digital resource that provides access to millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States in one single search.

Listen to eAudiobooks while you're on the go. Download titles to your Android or Apple device (free apps available from the App Store or Google Play)

Numerous eBooks covering various topics and subject matter. Each title is limited to one user at a time.

Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
20+ years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and we work with 450+ library and other partners through our Archive-It program to identify important web pages. As our web archive grew, so did our commitment to providing digital versions of other published works. Today our archive contains: 279 billion web pages, 11 million books and texts, 4 million audio recordings (including 160,000 live concerts), 3 million videos (including 1 million Television News programs), 1 million images, and 100,000 software programs.

Search journals, primary sources, and books on JSTOR.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

This safety program highlights the predominant workplace hazards associated with hot work and how to control the risks. It highlights to the worker how important; the health and safety of all employees is to your organization. The learning outcomes for this hot work training program include: • How hot work and welding should only be undertaken by qualified and experienced personnel • The precautions to be taken prior to commencing hot work • What a permit lays out and what are the risks • How to perform a risk assessment

In this program, three women with rewarding careers in the construction trades describe their work. Menyui Leung is a welder with experience in manufacturing and shipbuilding; Suzy Zaric is a restoration carpenter specializing in damage repair; Luce Gregoire is an electrician who works on lighting and heating equipment. Conversations with coworkers and supervisors add to the descriptions of each job. Part of the series Career Options for Women: Emerging Opportunities. (24 minutes)

Lasers are now widely used in a variety of industries, making it vital that the upcoming generation of designers, engineers, and tradespeople are familiar with their capabilities. This program provides students with a simple explanation of how lasers work and an introduction to some of their many applications in manufacturing, medicine, and science. Along with laser cutters, the video features a demonstration of a CAD/CAM project that utilizes a range of different technologies. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. (24 minutes)

Jaguar is a world-famous name for quality cars for the rich and famous. This program takes viewers inside the famous Castle Bromwich factory in the West Midlands, UK, to see how they make one - in this case, the Jaguar XJ. It looks at the factory processes for how they press the metal; assemble the parts using both robots and skilled labor; paint, trim, and assemble the cars; and perform quality control.

A woman who works as a welder describes qualifications, rewards, and responsibilities of her job.

No other welding magazine fills the need for this kind of practical information, and subscriptions are free to qualified welding professionals in North America.

The journal Welding in the World publishes authoritative papers on all aspects of materials joining, including welding, brazing, soldering, cutting, thermal spraying and allied joining and fabrication techniques.

The coverage spans a wide range of topics, including advances in joining processes; metallurgical and material behavior associated with joining; engineering properties and assessment of joints; health and safety and environmental aspects of joining; industrial applications; performance of welded structures in service; testing of welds; and education.

Welding in the world is a publication of the International Institute of Welding – IIW.
Presents authoritative papers on all aspects of materials joining
Publishes the expertise of the International Institute of Welding – IIW.
Includes welding, brazing, soldering, cutting, thermal spraying and allied joining and fabrication techniques
Covers health, safety and environmental aspects of joining; industrial applications; performance of welded structure in service

The Welding Journal has been published continually since 1922 — an unmatched link to all issues and advancements concerning metal fabrication and construction.
Each month the Welding Journal delivers news of the welding and metal fabricating industry. Stay informed on the latest products, trends, technology and events via in-depth articles, full-color photos and illustrations, and timely, cost-saving advice. Also featured are articles and supplements on related activities, such as testing and inspection, maintenance and repair, design, training, personal safety, and brazing and soldering.