OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners. Contains search features to find a variety of OER Resources.
Includes a highly-recommended and recommended courses maintained by the Lumen Learning team. A variety of other community-contributed OER courses are also available in the Lumen Platform. While some are well-developed and complete, others may benefit from additional review and contributions.
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Open access to research maximizes research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective.
Promotes the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources. We believe that these practices will expand student access to education while supporting academic freedom and faculty choice of openly licensed curriculum materials.
Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials. Includes a searchable database of OER materials.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia.
This page is an index to MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link below goes to a course with a variety of OER materials available.
Topics: Aeronautics; astronautics; civil and environmental engineering; earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences; electrical engineering, computer science; engineering; global studies and languages; health sciences and technology; institute for data, systems and society; materials science and engineering; mathematics; mechanical engineering, media arts and sciences; nuclear science and engineering, physics; and sloan school of management.
Provides the ability to search a range of OER materials from multiple sources, such as textbooks, courses, corresponding materials, interactive simulations, and public domain books and resources
Searchable repository of course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses.
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of sharable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. The aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.
OpenLearn, the home of free learning from The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or wanting to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 1,200 free and openly-licensed educational resources. The library was launched in 2017 in partnership with BCcampus. Since the initial launch, eCampusOntario has sought to continually improve the library to meet the needs of Ontario’s postsecondary educators and learners.
The High Desert Education Service District (HDESD) links school districts in Central Oregon to state and national education resources. Our programs help districts minimize duplication of services, preserve their local budgets and receive special programs that might otherwise be unavailable to them.
The American Printing House for the Blind (APH) is a nonprofit organization that has been offering a wide array of resources for individuals living with a visual impairment and their families since 1858. The goal of APH is to break down barriers that people with visual impairments face, whether in the school setting, workplace, or everyday life, so they can live more independent lives.
NLS is a free braille and talking book library service for people with temporary or permanent low vision, blindness, or a physical disability that prevents them from reading or holding the printed page. Through a national network of cooperating libraries, NLS offers books the way you want them: in braille or audio formats, mailed to your door for free, or instantly downloadable.
Provides a variety of open textbooks on arts, business, education, health, recreation, tourism, sciences, social sciences, support resources, and trades.
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations.
From the California State University, Merlot collection, and those under Creative Commons License: Arts, business, education, humanities, mathematics and statistics, science and technology, social science, and academic support.
InTech is the publisher of one of the largest multidisciplinary open access collection of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society. Libretexts currently has over 400 texts in 154 courses, making it one of the largest and most visited online educational resources. LibreTexts currently has 14 library disciplines.
MI Open Books have been written and created by Michigan teachers as part of the TRIG grant. During the 2014-15 School Year 4 titles were released. During the 2015-16 school year we are developing titles for 3rd Grade Michigan Studies, 7th Grade Ancient World, 8th Grade United States, HS United States, and HS Civics.
This page is an index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link below goes to a course or resource page that contains the textbook files. Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Noba is a free online platform developed by the The Diener Education Fund (DEF), a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Noba provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License. Users may reuse, redistribute, and remix the content to suit their needs.
The North Carolina Learning Object Repository (NCLOR) collects documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, assessments, and more – virtually any type of learning resource that can be digitized and processed.
OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.
Open Book Publishers is an open access academic book publisher based in the United Kingdom. It is a non-profit social enterprise and community interest company that promotes open access for full academic monographs, critical editions and textbooks in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics and Science.
All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements, making them seamlessly adaptable into existing courses. Our open source textbooks are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields. OpenStax textbooks undergo a rigorous peer review process. You can view the list of contributors when you click on each book.
Open SUNY Textbooks (OST) is the open textbook publishing program from which SUNY OER Services evolved. OST offers peer-reviewed open texts that can be immediately adopted and easily customized via the SUNY OER Services editing platform.
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The open textbooks on this page include several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012.
Each of our open textbooks has been developed collaboratively by a large group of contributors, including volunteers from South Africa and internationally, paid contributors and our in-house team. Each book project was managed by the Content Coordinator (a subject specialist responsible for the content, curriculum, workshop design, authoring and editing) and the Community Coordinator.
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development.
Our mission is to advance excellent teaching in American schools through the development and distribution of multimedia resources for teaching and learning. We are a division of the Annenberg Foundation, which funds a wide range of programs in education and other areas. The video components are paired with extensive Web sites that include online texts, course and workshop guides, and extensive background information to enhance the learning experience. Using these resources, teachers can learn from experts, other teachers, and even students who reveal their unique interpretations of the content.
Creative Commons has created this really useful search engine that lets you search for resources that are CC licensed. The image search is the most useful.
