LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Articles

What are Journal Articles?

Journal Articles are stored in Databases. Databases are like electronic filing cabinets.

Researchers write articles about their research and then publish them in Academic Journals. Then these Journals are available through Databases that the library purchases for your use.

Why use Databases? Why not just Google the information?

Anyone can publish on the internet. They may or may not know their topic. In order to publish in a Journal, you must be an expert and meet specific standards in your area of expertise.

This means that you can trust what you read in a Journal Article.

passwords for students

Remote Access Passwords for Students

Log in to MyNPC;

Click on the "My Courses" link
At the right side of the screen you will see a section called "Other Important Information."
Beneath that you will see "Library Information," and further down you must click on the link to the "Passwords for Access to the Library Databases"

You will need these credentials to access eBooks as well as databases.

Public patrons can access on-site ONLY in library with purchase of day-pass available through the campus office.

Best Bets: Places to Begin

Early Childhood Databases
This is a list of all the NPC Library databases for Early Childhood articles and information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.

OER: Open Educational Resources (free resources)

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
DPLA This link opens in a new window The DPLA is a free digital resource that provides access to millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States in one single search.
Elsevier's Open Access Journal List This link opens in a new window All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download. Published articles: Are fully peer reviewed. Are immediately free to access and download from ScienceDirect. Permitted re-use defined by the author's choice of Creative Commons user licenses. Published with CrossMark® to maintain the publication record
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. We began in 1996 by archiving the Internet itself, a medium that was just beginning to grow in use. Like newspapers, the content published on the web was ephemeral - but unlike newspapers, no one was saving it. Today we have 20+ years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and we work with 450+ library and other partners through our Archive-It program to identify important web pages. As our web archive grew, so did our commitment to providing digital versions of other published works. Today our archive contains: 279 billion web pages, 11 million books and texts, 4 million audio recordings (including 160,000 live concerts), 3 million videos (including 1 million Television News programs), 1 million images, and 100,000 software programs.
OAIster This link opens in a new window OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window OpenDOAR provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world. OpenDOAR staff harvest and assign metadata to allow categorisation and analysis to assist the wider use and exploitation of repositories. Each of the repositories has been visited by OpenDOAR staff to ensure a high degree of quality and consistency in the information provided: OpenDOAR is maintained by SHERPA Services, based at the Centre for Research Communications at the University of Nottingham.
OER Commons This link opens in a new window OER Commons is a freely accessible online library that allows teachers and others to search and discover open educational resources and other freely available instructional materials.