Databases - History 106 - US History 1877 to present : Amy Grey

Why Use Databases?

Databases are useful when you need credible resources for your research, such as journals, books, reference titles, newspapers, magazines, and more. They offer the following:

Peer-Reviewed Articles
Scholarly Sources
Expert Knowledge
Targeted Search
Eliminate Irrelevant Results
Streamline Research
Citation Assistance
Free Access for NPC Students
Cross-Discipline Research

Figure 1: Books Into Data. Note: Image generated using the prompt "make an image of research journals in a library turning into digital data" by Adobe, Adobe Express, 2025 (https://tinyurl.com/ymsws83e).

Database Instructions

Remote Access Passwords for Students

You will need these credentials to access eBooks as well as databases.

Log in to MyNPC

Click on "My Courses".
On the right side of the screen, you will see a section called "Other Important Information."
Beneath that, you will see "Library Information," and further down, you must click on the link to the "Passwords for access to the Library Database."

Public patrons can access on-site ONLY in the library with the purchase of a day-pass available through the campus office.

Best Bets: Places to look for articles about History

Academic Search Complete
EBSCO - Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Avalon Project
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

British History Online
British History Online is a not-for-profit digital library based at the Institute of Historical Research. It brings together material for British history from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and academics. These primary and secondary sources, which range from medieval to twentieth century, are easily searchable and browsable online.
National Archives
Many people know the National Archives as the keeper of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights. But we also hold in trust for the public the records of ordinary citizens—for example, military records of the brave men and women who have fought for our country, naturalization records of the immigrants whose dreams have shaped our nation, and even the canceled check from the purchase of Alaska.
In a democracy, records belong to the people, and for more than eight decades, NARA has preserved and provided access to the records of the United States of America. Records help us claim our rights and entitlements, hold our elected officials accountable for their actions, and document our history as a nation. In short, NARA ensures continuing access to the essential documentation of the rights of American citizens and the actions of their Government.