LibGuides: Government Documents: BUREAU OF INDIAN AFFAIRS

At 200 years old, the Bureau of Indian Affairs is the oldest bureau in the Department of the Interior. Our mission is to enhance the quality of life, promote economic opportunities, and to carry out the responsibilities entrusted to us to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians and Alaska Natives. We accomplish this either directly, through contracts, grants, or compact agreements.

Tribal Government

Division of Tribal Government Services
To promote awareness of Tribal governmental responsibilities and processes, and to provide Tribes with the resources they need to foster strong and stable Tribal governments in exercising their rights as sovereign nations.
Tribal Leaders Directory
The Tribal Leaders Directory provides contact information for each federally recognized tribe. The electronic, map based, interactive directory also provides information about each BIA region and agency that provides services to a specific tribe. Additionally, the directory provides contact information for Indian Affairs leadership.

Indigenous Peoples in Arizona

Indigenous Peoples in Arizona
Native Americans have inhabited what is now Arizona for thousands of years. It remains a state with one of the largest percentages of Native Americans in the United States, and has the second largest total Native American population of any state. In addition, the majority of the Navajo Nation, the largest Native American reservation in the US, and the entire Tohono O'odham Nation, the second largest, are located in Arizona. Over a quarter of the area of the state is reservation land.

Arizona is home to 22 Native American tribes that represent more than 296,000 people. A total of 20 Reservations cover more than 19,000,000 acres, ranging in size from the very large Navajo Reservation, which is the size of West Virginia or Ireland, to the small Tonto Apache Reservation that covers just over 85 acres.
Then and Now Experiences of American Indians and Alaska Natives
Learn about past and present heritages and civil rights experiences of American Indians and Alaska Natives (AIAN).

Bureau of Indian Affairs
We maintain government-to-government relationships with Indian tribes, and facilitate support for tribal people and tribal governments. We promote safe and quality living environments, strong communities, self sufficient and individual rights, while enhancing protection of the lives, prosperity and well being of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Bureau of Indian Education
The BIE implements federal Indian education programs for roughly 46,000 students at 183 schools across the U.S.
Missing and Murdered Indigenous People
Everyone deserves to feel safe in their communities. The Missing and Murdered Unit within the Office of Justice Services focuses on analyzing and solving missing and murdered cases involving American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Office of Indian Economic Development
Reliable, affordable broadband access is critical to the health and economic well being of tribal communities.
Office of Justice Services
Protecting lives, resources and property is at the heart of the BIA's law enforcement effort.
Regional Offices
Delivery of program services to the federally recognized tribes and individual Indians and Alaska Natives, whether directly or through contracts, grants or compacts, is administered by the twelve regional offices and 83 agencies that report to the BIA Deputy Director-Field Operations, located in Washington, D.C.